Mt. Tallac View

Mt. Tallac View

Mt. Tallac View

A hike of approximately 9-miles and 5-hours in duration, depending on how fast you hike uphill, from the Fallen Leaf Lake area gets you to the top of Mt. Tallac and back. The panoramic views from this vantage point, of 9,375 feet, are spectacular and it’s well worth the effort if you have never been to the top.

This view is looking north and you can clearly see Cascade Lake and Emerald Bay as well as it gives you an idea of the scale of Lake Tahoe and its 22-miles by 12-miles expanse. I also like how the clouds are casting their shadows.

Another photo, but this time about an hour from the top of Mt. Tallac. It’s a steady climb from here to the top but with scenery like this, who cares!

Mt. Tallac Hike

Mt. Tallac Hike

What I like about this photo is the contrast of colors. The rich greens and yellows of the plants in the foreground and the stark grey mountains in the background, with a couple of remaining patches of snow.

I am not exactly sure which mountain that is in the photo, I should really know so I apologize, but it sure does remind me of Half Dome in Yosemite. Perhaps someone who does know can add a comment and share with all of us?

This will be the last photo of the Summer, we officially go in to Autumn on Wednesday, September 23rd. Autumn is one of my favorite seasons and I hope to capture several photos of the changing colors and first snow fall!

More Tahoe Photos posted at Tahoe Photos and Tahoe Photos Gallery.

Leave a comment